Pledge Shares Charges (2026): Broker-wise Pledge Fees
Pledging shares costs nothing at INDmoney and 5paisa for margin use, ₹29.50 for five stocks at Fyers, and ₹177 at Zerodha, which charges ₹30 + GST per ISIN. Most brokers charge ₹15 to ₹25 per ISIN per request, and mStock charges ₹32 per pledge sequence number per day on closure.
Last updated: October 2026
Pledging lets you use shares you already hold as collateral margin for trading, without selling them. The shares stay in your demat account while they are pledged, and brokers charge a fee per ISIN each time you pledge or unpledge. This page lists what each broker publishes, checked on official pages in October 2026. Where a broker did not state a charge on the page I checked, the table says so.
Pledge charges by broker, lowest first
| Broker | Margin pledge | Unpledge | MTF pledge |
|---|---|---|---|
| INDmoney | ₹0 for margin pledge | ₹0 | ₹20 + GST per ISIN |
| 5paisa | ₹0 | ₹0 | ₹0 |
| mStock | Creation ₹0 | Closure ₹32 per pledge sequence number per day + GST | ₹32 per pledge sequence number per day + GST |
| Fyers | ₹5 + GST per request | ₹0 | ₹12 + GST per request |
| Dhan | ₹15 + GST per ISIN | ₹15 + GST per ISIN | ₹15 + GST per ISIN |
| Groww | ₹20 per ISIN | ₹20 per ISIN | ₹20 per ISIN |
| HDFC Sky | ₹20 per transaction | Not stated | ₹20 per transaction |
| Sharekhan | ₹20 per transaction | Nil | ₹30 per transaction under margin funding |
| Shoonya | ₹20 per instruction | ₹20 per instruction | — |
| Angel One | ₹20 + GST per ISIN (₹5 CDSL + ₹15 Angel One) | ₹20 + GST per ISIN | ₹20 + GST per ISIN (₹12 CDSL + ₹8 Angel One) |
| Upstox | ₹20 + GST per scrip | ₹20 + GST per scrip | ₹20 + GST per scrip |
| IIFL | ₹25 including GST per ISIN | ₹25 including GST per ISIN | — |
| Zerodha | ₹30 + GST per ISIN per pledge request | Not stated | ₹15 + GST per ISIN |
| Motilal Oswal | Not stated on the page checked | Not stated | Not stated |
| Kotak Securities | Not stated on the page checked | Not stated | Not stated |
| ICICI Direct | Not stated on the page checked | Not stated | Not stated |
| SBI Securities | Not stated on the plans document | Not stated | Not stated |
| Axis Direct | Axis Bank lists margin pledge at 0.03% of value or ₹25 per instruction, whichever is higher | Not stated | ₹25 per instruction (margin trading funding) |
What pledging five stocks costs
| Broker | Pledging 5 stocks as margin (one request each) |
|---|---|
| INDmoney | ₹0.00 |
| 5paisa | ₹0.00 |
| mStock | ₹0.00 |
| Fyers | ₹29.50 |
| Dhan | ₹88.50 |
| Groww | ₹100.00 |
| HDFC Sky | ₹100.00 |
| Sharekhan | ₹100.00 |
| Shoonya | ₹100.00 |
| Angel One | ₹118.00 |
| Upstox | ₹118.00 |
| IIFL | ₹125.00 |
| Zerodha | ₹177.00 |
Each stock is one request, at the margin pledge charge in the table. Where a broker lists “+ GST”, 18% is added. Groww, HDFC Sky, Sharekhan and Shoonya do not say whether GST is extra, so their figures are as listed; IIFL’s ₹25 already includes GST. Unpledging is charged separately at brokers that charge for it.
Things to check before you pledge
- Charges apply per ISIN, so pledging many small holdings costs more than one large one.
- Pledge for margin and pledge for MTF can be priced differently at the same broker, as Zerodha, Fyers and Angel One show.
- Some brokers charge for unpledging, and some charge per day (mStock closure); others do not charge at all.
- Pledging for margin is separate from taking a loan against securities, which has its own interest and fees.
Compare brokers one to one on the broker comparisons hub, or test your own order sizes in the brokerage calculator.
Pledge charges: FAQs
What are pledge charges?
A fee per ISIN each time you pledge shares as margin or unpledge them. It is usually split between the depository and your broker, with GST.
Which broker has the lowest pledge charges?
INDmoney and 5paisa list ₹0 for margin pledging. Fyers charges ₹5 + GST to pledge and ₹0 to unpledge.
How much does Zerodha charge to pledge?
₹30 + GST per ISIN for each pledge request, and ₹15 + GST per ISIN for MTF pledges.
Do I pay to unpledge?
It depends on the broker. Fyers, INDmoney and 5paisa list ₹0, Sharekhan lists nil for release, and Angel One, Dhan, Upstox and Groww charge per ISIN.
Is pledging the same as MTF?
No. A margin pledge uses shares you own as collateral; MTF funds new purchases with borrowed money and pledges those shares. The charges differ at many brokers.
Is STT different between brokers?
No. STT is set by the government: 0.1% on buy and sell for delivery, 0.025% on the sell side for intraday, 0.05% on the sell side for futures and 0.15% on the sell premium for options. It is the same at every broker.
Sources
Official pages checked in October 2026: INDmoney: indstocks.com/pricing; 5paisa: 5paisa.com/pricing; mStock: mstock.com/pricing; Fyers: fyers.in/charges-list; Dhan: dhan.co/pricing; Zerodha: zerodha.com/charges; Angel One: angelone.in charges; Upstox: upstox.com brokerage charges; Groww: groww.in/pricing; HDFC Sky: hdfcsky.com/pricing; Sharekhan: sharekhan.com/pricing; Shoonya: shoonya.com/pricing; IIFL: indiainfoline.com brokerage charges; Axis Direct: Axis Bank demat charges. STT, stamp duty, SEBI turnover fee and exchange transaction charges follow the rates set by the government, SEBI and the exchanges.
Charges change. This page is for information and education only, not investment advice. Confirm on the broker’s site before you open an account or trade.
